Top 10 Rainy Day Comfort Foods

Raining in California happens probably 3 days a year, but when it rains, it’s one of the greatest things ever. It also brings out old memories, whether its your childhood, teen years, or adulthood.

The rain itself brings up so much feelings from it. It reminds me of when I was younger when sang sad songs looking out the window, when I laid in the rain trying to soak up as much as I could, when I used to jump in puddles and regretting it because my clothes would get wet and it would be super hard to take off my pants, or just sitting in my house all bundled up in blankets.

Because of the weather, and after running and playing in the rain, it’s always good to eat some of my favorite comfort foods and drinks in the cold.

1. Hot Apple Cider

It goes beyond just normal hot chocolate, its not too sweet but still warms you up. It’s really easy to make whether its from a packet or made form actual apple juice.

2. Tea

Tea is something you can have everyday, but something that I really love to drink to get in the mood for Christmas is the Winter Dream Tea from Coffee Bean. It has great spices mixed together to create this perfect smell and taste that makes everything feel Christmasy. Another one that you should totally try is the chai tea latte with almond milk.

3.  Toscana Soup

Okay if you haven’t tried it you should. It’s probably the best soup there is, and the greatest thing is that you can make it yourself, but if not you can just go to Olive Garden.

4. Phò

This is something that is like heaven on earth. Like a warm hug in every sip. It is the best and something hot but fresh.

Vietnamese-Pho-Recipe-1

5. Grilled Cheese

Just the thought of grilled cheese reminds me of being home. The late night munchies as a kid and making my dad make me food. The many cheeses combined, and the temperature thats just right to where the cheese just pulls from each other.

6. Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches

Something about this is just so good, and a total classic. I love this combo, and I think its the best with potato bread.

7. Mac and Cheese

There’s so many ways to make mac and cheese but my favorite is mac and cheese with bacon with sprinkled cheese and bread crumbs on top and put in the oven to bake.

8. Banana Crumb Muffins

I found this when looking for a way to use bananas before they went bad, and I absolutely love it and I’ve made it so many times and it tastes the best right out of the oven.

9. Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

These are super easy to make and dairy-free. They taste like brownies but in cookie shape.

10. Ice Cream

Although it’s cold outside, if you bundle up at home with blankets, ice cream is great. Specifically if you watch movies. Disney movies.

All of these foods are great especially in the rain. These are things that you should definitely try with or without the rain.

Leave a comment